MR2 SpyderChat banner
1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello fellow performance car enthusiasts!

I am new to these engines, and I would like a description, and pictures of, the valvetrain of their respective head, and hardware.

Specifically, I am interested in the capability of the valvetrain, I keep reading words like "additional lift" which makes me think of honda's additional rocker arm, and yet I find */% camshaft retard/advance within the power FC management software- making me think that it is in fact an electronically controlled camshaft degree-

for the intake cam? the exhaust cam? BOTH? Does it change lift ALSO? What does it look like? An FSM would be great also- thanks!

·
Registered
5,907 Posts
Sometimes it's hard to get a feel for the actual device, when only reading papers..

In a nut shell.. the 1ZZ is the base model.. it's an econo Box motor.. and built for gas millage..

It has a Fixed Exhaust Cam Timing, and a Variable Intake Cam Timing through a range of about 30Deg if I remember my Numbers properly. Its done with a Oil Actuator moving the Timing of the Intake Cam, and a feed back loop checking Cam Sig Phasing to Crank Sig Phasing.. so a Smart Device is needed to keep the Cam Timing, if it's not full retard or Full advance.. That is where the i comes from in VVTi ( Intelligent )

The 2ZZ was built to kick ass on the 1ZZ.. it was built as a performance motor.. it took all the success that they had on the development of the 1ZZ VVTi ( Variable Valve Timing with Intelligent Feed Back ) and added a 'Lift' Feature.. this is a Slipper foot that will drop under a cam lobe to increase Valve Lift and also increase Duration, of the Valve Timing, for use at higher RPM ranges.. to increase breathing of the engine..

The Lift is done to the Intake and Exhaust Valve train, and the VVTi is still only done on the Intake cam..

Other changes were done to the Head to increase breathing.. like Valve Stem Angle to Port..

Cap

·