MR2 SpyderChat banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Hey guys, I just picked up a 2001 Spyder with 116k and I'm new to Toyota. The car got a huge leak and oil blow by from the exhaust (white smoke) when cold start. I just fine a dye leak detector and here is what I found. Look like someone did a poor job on the valve gasket and oil pan. There are overrun rubber sealant on the corner of valve cover and timing tensioner. I want to know if the engine is still worth saving? I'm planning a 2zz swap in the future.... what are the common leaking point for 1zz ?

Attachments

·
Registered
1,033 Posts
Steam at the exhaust is normal after a cold-start (depending on the ambient temperature. White smoke is not; it means you are getting coolant in a combustion chamber. Take a look at the spark plugs to see if one of them looks very different than the others. Get a copy of the shop manual (free online) to replace the valve cover gasket and fix possible chain tensioner and oil pan leaks.

Dave

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Steam at the exhaust is normal after a cold-start (depending on the ambient temperature. White smoke is not; it means you are getting coolant in a combustion chamber. Take a look at the spark plugs to see if one of them looks very different than the others. Get a copy of the shop manual (free online) to replace the valve cover gasket and fix possible chain tensioner and oil pan leaks.

Dave
Thanks Dave. Will take your advice and I'm thinking to run a compression test when I check the spark plugs.

·
Registered
49 Posts