MR2 SpyderChat banner
1 - 20 of 72 Posts

· Registered
32 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Hi, everyone. I bought a 2002 MR2 with 128k miles for 8k a few days before Christmas. I had been using this forum to research them for about two months before purchase. The car looks like it has spent the vast majority of its time in a garage. The headlights are clear and the top is in very good condition, with just one small beginning of a rip on the top left corner of the rear window. The seats have zero wear or tears. I bought the car as a track car, so the great appearance is just a bonus. I live in NM and I bought the car in AZ.

I also joined some MR2 FB groups and they were pretty much unanimous that the 1ZZ will probably start burning oil and also suck on track, so I budgeted to get a 2ZZ swap ASAP. I am not a mechanic and I work way too much to ever get anything done in a timely manner. Those two facts motivated me to find someone to swap in the 2ZZ. I found someone in LA to swap the engine. The deal was to get my 1ZZ and transmission in trade for a 2ZZ with a 6 speed and LSD plus 6k. That seemed reasonable to me, so I went for it.

I had a lot of maintenance items replaced and performance items added for reliability:

• Moroso oil pan
  • MWR coated billet oil pump gear (in the stock housing)
  • Toyota oil pump gasket
  • Toyota timing chain tensioner
  • Toyota water pump
  • Toyota Timing front cover gasket set A & B
  • Toyota front crank main seal
  • Toyota rear crank main seal
  • Toyota chain guide set
  • TRD 170F thermostat and Toyota gasket
  • Toyota 2ZZ clutch kit with ARP bolts
  • MWR alternator and water pump underdrive pulleys with Gates belt
  • QRP alternator
  • Koyo radiator
  • complete HPS coolant hose kit (every hose on the car basically)