MR2 SpyderChat banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi everyone,

I'm a hobby car mechanics newb and I'm trying to sort the car out myself, so if any stupid questions occur, don't flame rather teach. (there's no such thing as stupid question, but the stupid answer.)
Short introduction before tackling the problem. Bought 1zz turobed Spyder with C2 power kit in Europe (would appreciate if anyone got their contact; also kit available for sale!) 1.5 yrs ago. Stock engine with 0.65 bar pressure, piggy back fuel management, connecting rod broke. Chassis got 58.000 km and it wasn't driven a lot for last 5-6 years. Turbo kit was on the car for approximately 20.000 km.

Decide to go the NA road instead and swapped 2zz inside.
2zz is from Celica '00 GTS as I was told (with JAP ecu), imported from UK, vendor S&J (I'll get back flaming at them on other tread, as I tend to be a bit more active on the site.)
2 o2 sensors connected before the CAT and 1 after (1zz MR2 O2 setup). Guy who did the swap is not Toyota expert and doesn't know a lot on 1zz, 2zz or the Spyders. Vendors told me JAP ecu only needs 1 O2 before CAT.
Car is struggling with power. Lift engagement is noticeable only by sound. I'm facing P0171 problem.
Took my car to dyno. Here are the results. These are crank numbers.

Guy who dynoed the car suggested it might be the fuel pump (because the car was sitting for quite a while).
Repair manual says it might be MAF tube size (supposed to be 2.75''), MAF itself, injectors, O2 sensors and also fuel pump.

After dyno I've read a thread on O2 sensors and disconnected drivers side (car is LHD) O2 sensor. No change in power, check engine light came on reporting P0141.
Since I worked with friends OBD scanner and don't want to bother him anymore, decided to order one myself. (OBDLink LX)
As I'm waiting on that OBD, I've dropped MAF tube and measured it. (I'll give it a good clean I swear)