MR2 SpyderChat banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi guys, I've been following a few threads here and elsewhere in order to help me understand how to remove the original 1ZZ from my 2001 MR2 and replace with MonkeyWrench's 2ZZ kit.

I have some extra questions that I can't get clear answers on so was hoping you could help.

My background is pretty non-mechanical but I have a friend helping who has worked on mustangs in the past.
We've got the exhaust system out, most electrical disconnected, hoses removed, car lifted on on a hoist by rear member, with axle stands for added safety and the front wheels on ramps to give plenty of clearance.

We're now at the point on removing the engine itself and it seems we'd be better to drop the Transaxle and Engine as a unit. Assuming that is the case my first question centers on the Axles.

1) Am I better to pull them from the Transaxle and leave them attached to hubs or pull them from hubs and drop them with the transaxle?
I believe I need new nuts if I pull from hubs and a pry bar if I pull from transaxle. Can you expand on that process (passenger side first for example)?​

2) There are 2 hard pipes running from underside of the car up toward the side of engine with timing belt etc. I believe these are AC pipes and in which case, how on earth do you get to the bolts holding the compressor on?!

3) We've currently disconnected all cables we can, rather than pull the wiring harness through the bulkhead. Was that a mistake? Am I better to pull the harness through and then do all the disconnections once the engine is free of the car?
I will be using the MonkeyWrench plug/play wiring adapter if that changes your answer!​