MR2 SpyderChat banner

1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
2,192 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I will be performing the actual 2zz swap in the next few weeks, so I am wondering if there is any "do it while its out" type stuff that I should consider.

I dont want to spend unnessicary money so aftermarket parts like clutch flywheel are not in the running here. Also, I am assuming because of the relitavly low miles on both engines, there very well may not be anything that needs to be done.

Original 1zz - 58,000 miles
Lotus 2zz - 17,000 miles

Thanks!

·
Registered
2,851 Posts
I'm no mechanic but my new one is getting a new water pump and thermostat, I got an upgraded oil pump and pan, and i had a newer alternator already but I would have replaced it. 17k is super low miles but if its an older engine you might want to swap some simple stuff if you've got the extra coin.

-Spargo

·
Registered
587 Posts
When I did my swap I changed several items:
Oil Pump
Lift bolts
timing chain
thermostat
water pump
Engine mounts
flywheel and clutch
Only reason I replaced all these parts is because I'm lazy and didnt want to replace these parts any time soon. I would at suggest at least replacing the lift bolts and oil pump.

·
Registered
2,192 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
Not racing, nor is it a daily driver. Fun weekend car that sleeps for 7 moths of the year.

·
Registered
8,299 Posts
I would change the 1zz. :p Lift bolts and that's it. A light flywheel if you can find one. Doesn't need a clutch if the original has 17k on it. Even a used one is a good ides. It's a pita after the fact....

·
Registered
95 Posts
Clarification.

2002 MR2 1zz being replaced by a 2005 Lotus 2zz

Please clarify this response based on the read. What I'm saying is that there was a "recall" and your 2005 engine is questionable - yes?

VVTi

I'm trying to piece this together but it's scattered through various threads.......... There was a recall on the engine your installing.