MR2 SpyderChat banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
299 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Afternoon Folks:

The restoration of my new-to-me 2001 Spyder continues. Because of repeated interior water incursion, today’s tasks: remove moldy old carpet and pad; sand surface rust from floor pans; prime and paint sanded areas; clean dirt, mold and mildew from rest of cockpit area.

While in the process of stripping the old carpet from my 2001 Spyder, in the rear of the cockpit directly behind where the (missing) driver’s seat would go, I noticed this small piece of what looks like to me to be part of the top, or top drain (SEE PICTURES). Does anyone know where this piece is supposed to go or why it is just laying loose?

General Location:

code [ img ] [ /img ]

Specific Location:

code [ img ] [ /img ]

Actual Loose Piece of Top/Drain Material:

code [ img ] [ /img ]

All input welcome!

I really want to stop the water from coming into my Spyder!

P.S. This is my first time trying to insert pictures into a thread...so bear with me.

·
Registered
3,987 Posts
I don't recognize the little loose piece. I expected to see a snap or grommet on the round end, which would make it part of the "ear" strap, or maybe the side cable attachment. I've had both pieces get torn loose from the ragtop material. Neither of those parts will contribute to leaking though.

I'd be more concerned about the loose corner of the rain bucket. That piece that's flapping loose is supposed to be attached to the cross rail I believe. I drew a red arrow where to pull up the loose flap.

Check the plastic drain grill at the bottom of the rain bucket to make sure the drain or the fabric surrounding the drain arent' torn loose.

Good for you, pulling the cabin carpet out. Whenever the cabin gets soaked, you must pull both seats and pull back all the cabin carpet and dig out the cotton rag insulation. If it gets soaked, it will never dry due to the plastic backing on the carpet.
You_Doodle_2017-06-01T02_02_29Z.jpg