MR2 SpyderChat banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
31 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am new to the MR2! Finally.

Hi I am Steve. I have been rather obsessed with the Mr2 since the 90's but had only dreamed of owning the "attainable exotic"... until last Friday. I read up on some of the spyderchat FAQs and press release documents but I have a noob question to get me started on here.

I finally bought my 2001 Mr2 Spider with the Celica GTS engine swap 2zz. but that is the only mod, It feels restricted by the stock headers and exhaust yet runs great so I will get into that later.

I read in some documentation the black soft-top is a combination of acrylic, cotton, and some other things. What should I use to restore the top. It looks like the car sat outside much of its 110,000 mile life, and looks worn by the sun especially on the right side. This is my first convertible. Yesterday, I tried something called Blue Magic Convertible Top Protectant and Conditioner, but there where NO results, a waste of time. It was the only convertible top product that pepboys sold. I will return the bottle.

I usually use something like Armorall for anything with black plastic or rubber inside and OUT. Actually Armorall made a world of difference on the exterior plastic side intakes, front and rear grill area, as well as the exterior bottom area of the windshield. It made them all look real nice and dark. I really want to try Armorall on the roof. Does anyone have an opinion on this or know of something I should try first that will restore before I learn the hard way about Armorall eating holes through the MR2's top?

I really like the way Armorall looks on the black exterior parts. My car is silver so these parts need to look bold, Does anyone use Armorall on the roof or is there something else I should try first.

Thanks
-Steve

·
Registered
2,544 Posts