MR2 SpyderChat banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
21 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So I'm new to the Spyder world (the car world in general, actually)... but in the truck world, you have manufacturers like Zone, Fabtech, Rough Country, Tuff Country, BDS, FTS, CST, Cognito, etc. Some are better than others, some just suck, some are overpriced, etc. I've been doing a lot of reading but haven't found the gold mine yet on what's good, and what I shouldn't waste money on...

The basic goal here is twofold; one, I want to drop the car down a couple inches so it has less of a 4x4 appearance; and two, I want to use quality components that will handle and ride well, since my front struts are about dead anyway. I'd like to avoid doing coilovers since frankly I don't drive the car hard enough to benefit from them for the $$ I'd pay. I don't mind spending money but I don't want to spend money unless I will benefit from it.

I currently have 16x7's on the car, with 215/40's up front and 225/45's in the rear.

·
Registered
3,208 Posts
I put Koni yellows and Eibach Pro S springs on mine and have been very pleased with the improvement in ride and handling. I also did the top/bottom and front/rear TRD braces. I'm a casual weekend runabout driver, I push it pretty hard but nowhere near 100%.

These springs lower it 1.2" front and rear. IMO more for the street will have you dragging things.

·
Registered
7,661 Posts
Tein, Eibach, H&R, or if you can find the TRD sportivo springs, are going to be your higher shelf quality springs. I've personally owned the Tein s-tech lowering springs, and have driven a spyder that had the H&R springs, both were great, and the H&R were actually a little nicer.

For struts, KYB has struts that are equal to the stock units, but cheaper. The Koni inserts aren't a direct bolt-in, but offer a little bit of adjustability and control a stiffer aftermarket spring better.

·
Registered
2,478 Posts