MR2 SpyderChat banner

1 - 20 of 80 Posts

·
Registered
81 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello, I’ve started my v6 swap and will be documenting as much as I can. My car is a 2000 spyder, the engine is a Toyota Sienna 1mzfe, the transmission is from a celica gt. Will update project as I get along for now here is the progress. Got the engine and transmission bolted up, put it in the hole, currently making the mounts. Will post what progress I make. This is going to be a budget diy build in a carport in the middle of winter in the Northeast, so there’s going to be a lot of trial and error and learning as I go along. I’m not a professional shop, just a kid with some free time, an internet connection and some basic tools. I’m also recording my progress and will have up YouTube video series, after I finish the build. Hoping to have it running and driving around by May 2019.

Attachments

·
Registered
81 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Getting the engine to align well took quite some time. Got the axles fitted well, I’m using my original 1zz axles. I’m using 3/16 steel sheets for material for the mounts. I’m using a combination of mk2 mr2, mk3 mr2, and 97-01 Camry mounts, to combine and cut what I need.

·
Registered
41 Posts
There was a 1MZ converted MR-S for sale within the last month and it looked really appealing. Much more appealing to me than a 2ZZ/K Swap or 1ZZ turbo. I look forward to seeing more about your build!

·
Registered
81 Posts
Discussion Starter #5