MR2 SpyderChat banner

1 - 20 of 90 Posts

·
Registered
66 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Hello,

I am new here, have been browsing for a little while but finally decided to post something as I am starting on my mr-s conversion

Car: 1999 JDM mr-s
138,000kms
red

I bought it about 6 months ago, pretty standard other than 17" wheels, lowering springs (unknown brand), Apex'i stainless exhaust and HKS intake. The 5 speed c56 gearbox has very bad bearings in it. I didn't originally buy it to keep (I fix cars for a living) but I enjoyed driving so much I decided to keep it.

Also one day I happened across a crashed JDM corolla wagon that had a 2zz-ge and 6 speed. The car had heaps of mods; coilovers, wheels, blitz super charger kit etc! I bought the whole car, stripped it for all the valuable parts and sold what I didn't need. I decided the 2zz and C60 would make my car great.

Here's a few pictures of my car as it sits today:

IMG_8390.jpg

IMG_8391.jpg

IMG_8394.jpg

here is the donor car before I dismantled it:
IMG_8129.jpg

Starting to prepare the motor and box for installing:
IMG_8435.jpg

So far I have done the following whilst engine/box are out: Replace thermostat, waterpump, rocker cover gasket, lift bolts, clean OCV strainers/solenoids, clean out supercharger and replace old oil with new compressor oil, replace gearbox seals, front and rear crank seals, spark plugs, sump seal, and clutch.

For those interested in how the blitz s/c kit fits, they make a custom sump which relocates the alternator down to the bottom to make way for the SC. This should be a good spot in the mr2 as it will stay cool.

Still got a few items to fit and or fabricate: MWR selector shaft/lockout, short shifter, exhaust, intercooler(probably water/air for space), boost gauge, bridge mount adapater, swap looms, swap ac and idler pulley/power steer, get new serpentine belt etc.

I am planning to remove the 1zz this weekend and start swapping over.