MR2 SpyderChat banner

1 - 20 of 63 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm pretty new to owning a car (MR2 Spyder is my first) and want to buy new wheels and tires for the Summer. I already have a set of wheels with winter tires, so I don't need to worry about All Seasons. I don't really have any idea about what wheels to get, I was hoping to go lighter (maybe obvious) then stock and a little wider in the front and rear, but I did hear that going to wide on a stock car is a quick way to make it feel sluggish and poorly effect handling. Another thing I'm a little confused about is offset and how spacers work and when they are needed.

Any advice is appreciated, and if you have a setup of your own that you like please do share it.

Thanks in advance.

·
Registered
1,215 Posts

I went off the deep end all at once -
  • Wheels - 17 x 7.5 x 42 offset
  • Tires - 205/40R17
  • All suspension links - Battle Version
  • Polyurethane bushings - Whiteline
  • Coilovers - DGR w/ track kit 10k/8k spring rates

The ride comfort is pretty much out the window, but that was never the goal. It goes like it's on rails and it's a fool's errand to try passing me through a corner.

These wheels are slightly heavier than stock, and the car is anything but sluggish.

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
View attachment 81503

I went off the deep end all at once -
  • Wheels - 17 x 7.5 x 42 offset
  • Tires - 205/40R17
  • All suspension links - Battle Version
  • Polyurethane bushings - Whiteline
  • Coilovers - DGR w/ track kit 10k/8k spring rates
View attachment 81504

The ride comfort is pretty much out the window, but that was never the goal. It goes like it's on rails and it's a fool's errand to try passing me through a corner.

These wheels are slightly heavier than stock, and the car is anything but sluggish.
Thanks for the response. Couple questions
What was the fitment process like? And was the car stock otherwise?

·
Registered
3,478 Posts