MR2 SpyderChat banner

1 - 20 of 32 Posts

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey guys this is my first time posting but ive read so many threads in the past 2 days I feel like Ive been here awhile. Anyways I found a 2000 Spyder on CL and went to check it out. The guy wants 2500 for it. Its a project car and needs a ton of work.

It has 90k on the body and 50k on the 1ZZ.

The engine is not cranking for what ever reason, maybe not connected right. He is sure it was working when bought. Anyways it needs a new soft top, old one is torn and there is body damage on bunch of the panels. The front is a top secret front bumper i think with a little chunk missing from the bottom and cracks. Nice side skirts and a trd rear skirt. The door is in primer and crappy body work on it, it was like scraped like across the whole door and bit of the rear panel. The front hood/frunk w.e needs work too. It was painted Solar yellow and original color looks to be black.
It has some fixed racing seat that wasnt mounted right in the drivers side and an old mr2 steering wheel.. idk why lol Its also on some cheap 15 rims that are not that stlyish.

Overall it is in pretty rough shape and it shows. But for 2500 he is trowing in the old engine, the racing seats( it has stock ones too) and what ever other crap he has for it. Oh and its a NY Salvage/rebuilt title.

Is this thing worth 2500?

Sorry I forgot to take pics lol, but what do you guys think. It wont be a daily driver, I just wanted something cheap to play with and mod/restore.

I also saw the 01 thats selling on the classifieds that was rear ended for 1.5, How hard is it to get parts for the rear of that thing?

·
Registered
8,707 Posts
All of of what you mentioned, including the salvage title, says this is not a good deal. It's not even running. You didn't give enough info about the other car that was rear ended...is it totaled?

There are decent, running, non salvaged Spyders out there in the 4.5K range. What is your budget?