MR2 SpyderChat banner

1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Registered
706 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
After searching for a small sport car to replace my 2001 Intense Blue Dodge Dakota Quad Cab 4x4, I finally found the car. I recently purchased a 2004 Paradise Blue MR2 Spyder with the 6-speed SMT. It has black leather interior and a black top. Purchased it with only 61K miles on it. I am currently a student at TN Tech for M.E. and work as a full-time Mechanical Technician for the Test Engineering group of Cummins Filtration. I mainly needed something the replace the Dakota that only got 15-16MPG, with something a little more fuel effiecent.

I actually stumble upon these cars will search for other cars. I originally was looking for a Pontiac Fiero, but decided since most were in pretty bad shape I'd look at other things. Then I ventured into looking for a turbocharged Supra. Almost bought one but then I found out the guy had dorked around with the engine and turbo so much that it was having a bunch of problems. Then it happened I was sitting at a gas station filling up and a red MR2 Spyder pulled up behind me. That's what got me looking at those. But after buying it I realized I may have wanted this car way before I knew what it was...

...Back in 2003 while car shopping with my parents for my mother's new minivan we went to a Toyota dealership. They had sitting in the show room a brand new 2003 MR2 Spyder in silver. I thought it was a sweet car and that I should keep it in mind if I ever want a small sport car...

...Years later here I am with a 2004 MR2 Spyder to my name...

I joined another MR2 forum, but I quickly learned that 90% of the information on the site was for the MK2 MR2s and not the MR2 Spyders, even though there were a few on there.

I'm hoping to get information on anything that comes up in the future with owning this car...