MR2 SpyderChat banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
36 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello everyone,

I have a few parts I would like to paint to match my car. I am wondering if you guys have any recommendations for where to buy paint. I am planning on purchasing an HVLP gun to spray these parts with. I've already started with sanding, body filler, and primer, but being as this is my first attempt at doing any sort of body work and painting, there's a few spots I missed. I think one more round of filler and sanding and these parts will be ready for color. Also, this car is not a show car. It's a $4k car I bought to practice/learn how to tinker with, and maybe learn some new skills.

Here's a few shots of the progress:

Brake light housings as received:

Duck tail spoiler as received (bought second hand from a local guy, was spray painted black and then sanded. Part was also very dented up from handling and storage):

After first round of body filler/sanding/primer:

Last night I spent a few hours sanding down the last coat of primer/filler on all 3 parts. I feel like the spoiler is in great shape now, and the tail light housings are pretty good. I'll probably go at the tail lights housings with filler one more time as there's still a few little blemishes.

Anyway, here's a couple of questions for everyone:

1. How much primer, paint, and clear coat do you think I will need for these parts? Would a pint of each be enough? (remember I am a beginner with auto body/painting, I'd rather buy about double what I will actually need up front as a safety margin in the event I mess up my first go at HVLP painting and have to sand down and start over).

2. Where is a good place to purchase paint? I've had good success with color matched rattle cans and paint pens from ExpressPaint, but is their HVLP paint quality stuff, or should I stay away from them?

3. Any recommendations on a decent quality BUDGET HVLP gun?