1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
747 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
EDIT: SOLVED and TLDR:

To protect your engine from the PFC randomly advancing timing, turn OFF BOTH
  • Settings 1 > Function Select > 5 .Idle-IG Cntrl
  • Settings 4 > IGN vs BatV should all be 1.0 since this appears to be timing vs battery instead of dwell vs battery as it is in all other EMS's
The Settings 1 Idle-IG SHOULD BE TURNED OFF! With this on you clearly risk advancing as much as 6 degrees (as evidenced by my logs) in high load portions of your map! This will over time damage engines on all but the most conservative tunes.

__
Preface:

I have been tuning customer cars for 20 years. Hardware experience includes a variety of engine management systems so I have a good feel for tuning software, even the old stuff.

I have been attempting to street tune my ignition map on a Power FC via Datalogit. In a few high load areas of my map I have been hunting what appeared to be a random unexpected knock. For example, do a pull at 10 PSI to redline through two gears and I may see a knock spike during one pull but not the other even when back to back. Usually just one short spike in knock. Not repeatable but intermittent at different points in the map.