MR2 SpyderChat banner
1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi guys. I’m trying to get my hands on a 2003 MR2 spyder. Went to check it out. Looks great, not much wrong I could find. But the steering does fell weird. I’m new to this kind of old school sport cars so I’m not sure if it’s how it’s supposed to be, or somethings wrong with the electrical power steering system. The steering is hard, and it’s not smooth. It hardly returns to the center by itself also. I’d appreciate any help since I’m really excited to join the MRS club. Love the car.

·
Registered
1,368 Posts
Must be something wrong with it. The Spyder uses an electric powered hydraulic pump and full hydraulic power rack so it feels like any good hydraulic setup.

·
Registered
36 Posts
Hi guys. I’m trying to get my hands on a 2003 MR2 spyder. Went to check it out. Looks great, not much wrong I could find. But the steering does fell weird. I’m new to this kind of old school sport cars so I’m not sure if it’s how it’s supposed to be, or somethings wrong with the electrical power steering system. The steering is hard, and it’s not smooth. It hardly returns to the center by itself also. I’d appreciate any help since I’m really excited to join the MRS club. Love the car.
That sounds like the rack itself is bad. I had a car that the rack went out on and it would stick wherever you turned it. It was kinda funny but a PITA for sure and a bit dangerous actually. Had to constantly correct it on the highway.

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·
Thank you. That’s what I thought also. It feels like there’s air in the system.
Must be something wrong with it. The Spyder uses an electric powered hydraulic pump and full hydraulic power rack so it feels like any good hydraulic setup.
How hard