MR2 SpyderChat banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
306 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
As an MR2 Spyder newbie, I managed to dent my 2001's rocker panel :chargrined:---even though I had the jack mounted at the perforated area--- when I tried to lift the car (high enough so that I could roll around under the car with my mechanic's crawler) with my floor jack.

So here are my important question: when using a floor jack to lift my car, where should I put the head of the floor jack; once I have the car jacked up, where are the best places to install the jack stands, so that I can both move around under the car and not bend any of the panels and frame?

A simple diagram showing the proper lift/jack stand locations would be wonderful!

Thanks In Advance!

Paul

·
Registered
4,130 Posts
For the rear, I always put the floor jack under the aft engine mount on the crossmember. There's a flat piece of metal that's part of the mount, perfect for the floor jack. For the front, there is a "U" shaped pattern embossed in the plastic belly fairing. That's the jack point for the front end. I never liked the side jacking points in the sheetmetal pinch welds. The sheetmetal is so thin. Owners manual says it's okay to lift where the pinch weld is marked - with two half moon cutouts. The repair manual schematic for lift points is not much help. I may be able to find it somewhere.

·
Registered
49 Posts
I would jack up the car 2 wheels at a time front and rear as per cyclehead above. Then put jack stands on the pinch welds on each side of the car. I, too, have heard that jacking up on the pinch welds isn't the best idea (i.e. lifting only 1 wheel up with a jack)...

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-N910A using Tapatalk

·
Registered
745 Posts
So where does everyone believe the proper locations are when using a full vehicle "X" lift?

·
Registered
12 Posts
Sorry to bring an old thread back to life, but I just gkt my spyder and will be lifting it tomorrow for the first time for a tire change.