MR2 SpyderChat banner
1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
729 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So my brother is parting out his 2001 Audi A4 and he has a Bose sound system in it. Would I be able to run his Bose speakers (which are 2 ohms impedence if I did my homework right) in my spyder while keeping the stock tweeters? The Audi tweeters are 2" btw, so no chance of swapping those. And I'm not sure if I would need only to upgrade the head unit as well or if an amp is absolutely necessary. As of right now I was planning only on swapping the door speakers. I'll end it with my usual disclaimer: I'm a total noob at this so any info is appreciated :scrock:

·
Registered
23,138 Posts
Electrically, there'll be no real problem with the tweeters. However, if the impedence of the Bose speakers is lower than the OEM speakers the tweeters will be a few dB down. You may not even notice it.

Of more concern is the ability of the head unit to drive the Bose speakers. It's OK to connect higher than design spec speakers, but not lower impedence speakers.

Another consideration is the physical installation. Will the Bose speakers even fit?

Agreed and to add to it, Bose car stereo stuff is crap and it's not even made by Bose although their self contained units do run on an active system that have electronic crossovers in the head unit.

These days car and camera manufactures licence names and then sell you on this phony stuff like Panasonic/Leica and Sony/Carl Zeiss .

If you want the real deal then pick up Amar's 901s and be done with it. I actually have vintage 301s and they still sound spectacular.

If we were talking about Audi Bangs and Olufsen then that is a different.

·
Registered
471 Posts
Yeah Dev's right. Bose speakers have been crap for a long time. What Bose puts into marketing true audio companies put into r&d and quality components.

·
Registered
23,138 Posts