MR2 SpyderChat banner

1 - 20 of 29 Posts

·
Registered
54 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I've been reading these forums for about 3 years now - ever since I test drove a spyder fell in love and decided to buy one. Well I went car shopping about 2 years ago with the intention of buying a spyder, found a C5 vette for a steal and bought that. Little bit of an impulse buy. I still love it and am itching for salt to get off the roads so I can drive it again. The handling is amazing, the speed is intoxicating, but I find myself still longing for the driving pleasure of something lighter and more nimble.

So I'd like to hear what spyderchat folks would do if they were me.

1. Keep the vette. It fits me and I can buy groceries with a passenger.

2. Buy a spyder. I love driving it but I can't fit in it comfortably for long trips. I'm too big.

3. Rx8. Just as much fun as a spyder(I think) it fits me perfectly. I really love everything about this car but I'm not a mechanic and I need reliability. I wouldn't be afraid of a new rotary engine because I know how to take car of them. I'm afraid of a 04-06 engine that was used by someone else who might not know what they're doing. I contemplated buying the cheapest rx8 I could find with the highest miles. With the intention of getting the most I could out of the engine and buying a brand new crate engine for it when it fails. I don't think this makes financial sense though, especially since I'd be paying someone else to do an engine swap.

4. 350z. Really no driving pleasure for me for some reason. It was pretty quick but not as quick as a vette and just real harsh handling. There was no smoothness when you went into a corner. It felt like more of a muscle car than a mustang. Not what I'm looking for.

5. Miata. Can't even get in and close the door.

6. S2k. Never got a chance to drive one. Do you think I can fit? I'm 6'4" 300. More or less room than a spyder?

7. Satiac Skystice. Same questions as S2k.