MR2 SpyderChat banner
1 - 20 of 161 Posts

·
Registered
454 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have been racing my spyder for many years with a modified 2zz, dry sump, itb, aero, etc. the car punches well above its weight.

But now I am looking for more power. Reliability is essential, plus if I go through the effort I would want to go for lots of power, but it should remain without too much lag.

Please share your thoughts, and especially experience.

The options I am considering are:
2gr v6 na (will need to pump more air so aftermarket spares will be required)
2gr supercharged
2gr turbocharged (what about heat?)
2zz turbocharged (heat buil up? Remember it is for track racing)
2zz supercharged (will need a larger supercharger as current ones are not enough power)
Other v6 engines? Prefer Toyota engines

Drive train will be sorted

Let me know

·
Registered
1,706 Posts
My car is currently at turbokits.com. Part of their R&D process is reducing heat from a 2zz turbo. Should be done in a month.

·
Registered
729 Posts
Just curious as to what kind of hp you would expect from a 2gr supercharged versus 2gr turbo

·
Banned
415 Posts
I have been racing my spyder for many years with a modified 2zz, dry sump, itb, aero, etc. the car punches well above its weight.

But now I am looking for more power. Reliability is essential, plus if I go through the effort I would want to go for lots of power, but it should remain without too much lag.

Please share your thoughts, and especially experience.

The options I am considering are:
2gr v6 na (will need to pump more air so aftermarket spares will be required)
2gr supercharged
2gr turbocharged (what about heat?)
2zz turbocharged (heat buil up? Remember it is for track racing)
2zz supercharged (will need a larger supercharger as current ones are not enough power)
Other v6 engines? Prefer Toyota engines

Drive train will be sorted

Let me know
Discussion is meaningless. 2zz turbo, thicker tires, and start smoking corvettes.