MR2 SpyderChat banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
732 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
How effective are the under drive pulleys? I have the Power Enterprise turbo with a TRD lightened flywheel all controlled by the Apexi PFC.

I am considering adding the under drive pulleys for the alternator and water pump from monkey wrench racing along with a under drive crank pulley from vision motor works.

Please speak up if you have knowledge if they are effective. The 2003 motor is out of the car and will be easy to install. Thanks in advance for sharing your wisdom.

·
Super Moderator
3,155 Posts
It has been recommended not to use an aftermarket crank pulley unless it is dampened or it could cause the oil pump to shatter. Something to do with harmonics. I have no first hand experience with it so I cant say for sure. However I do use and like the MWR Pulleys. I noticed a cooler water temp at crusing speeds.

·
Registered
708 Posts
As always the opinions on this one are splinted, most of people said that put in an aluminium underdrive pulley is a total blasphemy and will "FOR SURE" destroy your engine because is not damped and just a few said it is not always the case. I took the jump in this one and put the aluminium underdrive pulley for the crank and have run it for the last 10k miles and not bad side effect, I most use the car for daily and some races during the week. Although that the gains of one underdrive pulley is little if you sum all the pulleys it some more. I have the unorthodox underdrive crank pulley and is very light, less than a pound, the stock one is close to 5 pounds, monkeywrench have a dyno that shows the effect of the other underdrive pulleys in they webpage.

·
Registered
500 Posts