MR2 SpyderChat banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
38 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
As a noob here on SpyderChat I was searching through the threads looking for the possible cause of my vibration at speeds above 80 that increased straight through 100. This was a "whole car" vibration rather than a front wheel issue...the kind you feel mostly in the seat. What I learned on my search is that the best balance is a "road force balance" so that's where I started.

About a month ago I bought new Hankook 205-50 R15 rears... right after I learned that my sweet 2001 MR2 that I had just bought came with 4 new tires :thumbsup:... all the same size :(. Apparently they did a sloopy balance job. I just had a road force balance done on on the rear wheels about 2 hours ago and, sure enough, they found my left wheel was out. They re-balanced both rears and my ride was smooth straight up to 110 on Rt. 75 in SW Florida!

After reading so many posts about others getting a re-balance only to find they still had the problem I figured I was wasting my time and money and had visions of a big repair bill, especially since I just got new rears and they were just balanced. I'm not usually this lucky but I feel like I won lotto!

·
Registered
371 Posts
Your lucky you didn't earn a Darwin award doing speeds like that on public roads. :bash:

·
Registered
1,415 Posts
the spyder is great for hanging corners not a ballsout freeway beating welcome aboard none the less :lol:

·
Registered
740 Posts
Most of us here DO NOT condone reckless/careless driving on any roads - especially public roads. Please keep your "adventures" elsewhere.

·
Registered
38 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
Welcome to the 'chat. There's lots of good info here.